The EASIEST way to overcome a BAD mood

25Have you ever walked by Jasmine and suddenly felt rejuvenated?  Have you ever walked into a store because of the smell coming out of it?  Our sense of smell is powerful.  It can bring back memories.  Good memories and bad.  It has the power to change your mood.

Essential oils are one way to get smell into your system to help your mood improve.  And this applies to all moods: grief, anger, disappointment, lethargy.

Most people know their favorite smells, whether it’s citrus or flowers, grass or baked apples.  But what smells will help you when you feel overwhelmed, grumpy, insecure?  Enter the doTERRA App called Determine Your Mood.  The App is free and easy to use.  All you have to do is enter how you feel, on a sliding scale.  The more you feel an emotion, the more you slide the little bar to the right.  They have a total of 18 moods to choose from and you can pick as many of the mood choices as you are feeling.  So no need to worry if you are confused and angry.  Enter both.  They will help you out.

Once you’ve chosen your feelings and “ranked” them, it will tell you what oils will help you with that mood!  The good part is, you don’t have to own all these oils either.  It gives you a few options.  So you can choose the one(s) you have.  Or if you know what oils are in the blend they recommend, you can grab those and mix them up as best you can.  They get you in the ballpark, the rest is really just a matter of matching up the oils you may have to the answers they give you, as best you can.

So let’s get started.  First pic, is what you will see when you enter the Determine Your Mood App.  (By the way, I know there are only 6 emotions listed here, there are 18, but my screen would not show them all to you, sorry!).

For this next picture, I decided to feel discouraged (among other things), so you can see the recommended oils for that.

 

After I chose the emotions I was feeling, I scrolled to the bottom of the list and hit the

“Show Results” button.

img_8662-1

As you can see, they recommended Motivate and Citrus Bliss as the most likely to assist me with my mood.

 

 

If you click on the arrow to the right side of the listed oils, your screen will look like the picture below.

 

Easy and fun!  I LOVE having them give me an easy answer.  Let’s try again.  This time I’m going to be angry instead of gloomy.

 

 

And you can see below, the oils are different.  There often is overlap because, for example, Citrus Bliss is very uplifting.  So it can help with a lot of issues.  But, every situation is different.  So let’s try another one!

 

 

This time I’m going to have more of an anxious mood.

 

The recommendations for these moods are more lavender based than the ones above because lavender usually makes people feel calmer.  In this case, we don’t need to be uplifted quite as much as we need to be calmed down.

 

In this last one, I’m going to be sad in the sense of grieving.

 

As you can see, this one has a few lavender based oil blends, as mentioned in the last mood.  But Elevation is a citrus blend.  So this answer truly leaves it up to the individual as to what they might need.  Most likely, a calming lavender but possibly, depending on if they need to be uplifted, they might need the citrus.

 

I love this App because if I’m in a bad mood, once I know why (sometimes it’s just harder to tell than others), I can enter what I’m feeling and it tells me what to try.  And if I don’t have the recommended oil, I look at the second or third choices.  Or, I figure out what the first oil blend is made of.  If it’s citrus based, I grab whatever citrus oils I have and don’t worry about their exact recommendation.  I just need them to get me going in the right direction

While extreme emotions won’t just go away with smelling an oil, it does help.  I will give you an example.  I was very angry at a friend a while back.  The App told me to use the blend called Forgive.  I did.  And while I was still angry, I decided I wasn’t going to kill anyone.  After a few days of using a lot of Forgive (like I said, I was very angry!), I calmed down.  And I made my coworkers happy because they all got to smell my oil that week.  As they said, “It smells like a spa in here!”

If you have any questions about the App, please let me know and I’ll do my best to answer them.  Or, if you give the App a try, and it works for you, I’d love to hear about it.

If you need to buy oils, you can get them here: https://www.mydoterra.com/blackbourn.

If you have questions about the oils, just let me know.  I’m always happy to help.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

