Bullet Journal Fails!

Bullet Journal Fails!

You may have heard of this new fad, the bullet journal.  They are essentially daily journals/calendars that are flexible.  So instead of buying a pre-made calendar, you use a blank slate and cater it to your life.  You aren’t really supposed to go ahead in time.  It’s a day by day calendar (give or take).  You make up your to-do’s as you go.  But it’s also a long term goal-maker.  So you can list movies you want to watch, books you want to read, projects for the house, crafts for the kids, etc.  And there is no timeline.  Just a list that moves along with life.

The problem is, they really aren’t just lists.  They are beautiful, multi-colored, coloring pages.  Instead of listing books to read, you draw a bookshelf with books and write the titles on the books.  And your daily/weekly/monthly chores are in little charts with highlighters for the different chores, their status and so forth.  For example…..

Seriously, I don’t know how these people have the time to draw the birds, stars, dogs and whatever else I’m seeing on these things.  The point of a calendar or to do list is to get things done!  How are these people getting anything done when they are drawing so much?!  And how is it that they are all such good illustrators?  Now I have seen some people using stickers.  But again, who spends all this money on stickers just so they don’t have to write the words, “chore list”.  Another one….

What’s funny is this apparently was not at all the original idea.  People have just gone off the deep end with this.  Here’s a link so you can see just how simple the original idea really was.  http://bulletjournal.com/

So little did I know that I kinda created a bullet journal last year.  I had a blank journal and I decided to use it to list all these different projects I wanted to do and ideas I had.  I had no idea about the bullet journal craze.  This year I learned about the bullet journal and decided to start one (again, not realizing I already started one).

Here is what I learned:

  1. I can’t draw.  OK, I already knew that.  But seriously, I can’t.
  2. I have horrible writing.  Yeah, I already knew that too.  But I’m working on that, kinda.
  3. I am not going to invest in colored pencils and all that jazz.  I have some colored pens.  That’s where that ends.
  4. I am not going to invest in stickers.  It will take me 10x longer to look at stickers, buy them, and use them, than to just write the words!

But then, my journal isn’t pretty.  So here’s a few pics of my journal.  As you can see, it really is not pretty at all.

Do you see the difference in my chart and the ones above????  Um…yeah….

This is what I call a successful day.  Pretty, isn’t it?  (Don’t comment).

And this is the reality.  Apparently I don’t know what year it is.  How can a person be expected to make pretty tables when they don’t even know what year it is?

So all I’m going to say is that if you see millions of these articles and pictures telling you that it’s so great and all you have to do is blah, blah, blah….. well, the idea is great.  The execution is fine and can be adjusted, as needed.  But, the beauty is not practical, quick or easy.  It is a whole different ball of wax.  So definitely, if you have a lot of ongoing projects or to-do’s, give it a try, but don’t necessarily expect your pages to look like those exploding all over the internet.  And even if you try for that lofty goal but fail, cheer up, mine is probably way worse.

Of course, if you are worse than me, I would LOVE to see it!  And if you have a quick and easy way for me to improve, please let me know!  I’m loving how efficient and easy this idea is, but it is NOT pretty!

Save

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “Bullet Journal Fails!

  1. Oh my gosh, so true! I love looking at the bullet journal images, get all excited to make it happen for me and then realize I have no skills for it to turn out like this. Thanks for your inspirational images – truly. Knowing it can still be effective and helpful even if it isn’t beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

