Quick tip: The difference between lemon water and lemon essential oil in water

water-1187656_1920
#lemonwater, #lemonessentialoil, #doterra

I love lemon in my water.  More recently, I’ve noticed that when I drink lemon essential oil in my water, I feel more hydrated.  So I’ve been wondering what the difference is and if I could get the same results from lemon in my water as I do from the essential oil drop.  I know they don’t taste the same.  But what is the actual difference?  Well someone, somewhere must have been listening to me because in the doTERRA magazine, Living, they wrote about just that.  If you are able to get a copy, it’s the Fall 2016 volume.

So the first, and most obvious, difference is that lemon essential oil is a concentrated version of the fruit.  It would take a lot of lemon juice to match the potency of the essential oil.

But lemon juice and lemon essential oil are different in that the liquid is not from the same part of the plant.  Lemon juice is squeezed from the pulp of the lemon plant.  Lemon essential oil is made from the rind being cold-pressed.

Lemon essential oil has a higher concentration of limonene than lemon juice which is what can really help the consumer with digestion, respiration and internal cleansing.

Additionally, there is no citric acid in the oil so the lemon essential oil may be easier to ingest for those with sensitive stomachs.  So for those looking for assistance with internal cleansing their body, this may be a gentle way to go.

I know for me, when water alone is not hydrating me, or when I’ve had dehydrating drinks (such as alcohol), the lemon water makes me feel balanced and hydrated.

So how to use the oils?  First, you must have a brand that is safe for internal consumption.  It will state that on the label.  If it says for aromatic use only, don’t drink it!  The brand should obtain their plants from organic fields.  Read the labels!  You don’t want to drink chemicals.  Then, you would only want about 1 drop per tall glass – about 8oz.  Lemon oil comes out quickly, so until you really learn how to drop the oil out, you may get a few drops.  That’s OK.  You will get better at pouring them out.  But just prepare yourself a tall glass or even convert it into a pitcher, if need be.

The oil I use is doTERRA.  You can get it here:  http://www.mydoterra.com/blackbourn.  Or you can message me with questions.  The important thing is that if you are going to consume an oil, that you are safe about it!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

