Life hack: How to minimize the pain from a shot

vaccination-1215279__180

I used to get shots on a regular basis.  The doctor felt that my hip was the best place for the shot because I was “too skinny” in the arms.  But I couldn’t drive or work comfortably after that.  So I started insisting they be given in my arm.

Fortunately, the girl who administered the shot had a great little trick to minimize the pain.  And I’m talking 100% reduce the pain.  She would squeeze the area around the shot-spot a few times, really quickly, then insert the needle.  I don’t know if the confusion over the activity causes you to miss the full pain of the needle or what, but I do know it worked.  And well.

I just came across this video as well.  I haven’t had a chance to try it yet myself.  But basically, if you cough when they give you a shot, it also minimizes the pain, dramatically.

http://channel.nationalgeographic.com/you-cant-lick-your-elbow/videos/control-your-pain/embed/

So next time you are at the doctor’s, try one of these methods and let me know how they work for you!

Leave a Reply

