Quick tip: How to trick kids to eat their veggies

life-863705_1920.jpg
So getting kids to eat their veggies is plenty hard. And this tip I’m about to share is not mine. There is this awesome book called Deceptively Delicious by Jessica Seinfeld. Now I have to admit, I originally purchased this for myself. I don’t care for veggies. At least, not a wide variety of them. This book is so helpful toward increasing your intake.

The basic concept is that you puree the veggies in advance and freeze them so that when you make a recipe, they are ready to go. You grab your relevant veggie and done!

My favorite of the recipes are the french toast, the chicken salad sandwich, the tuna salad sandwich and the chili. What I like about the french toast is that you can really play with it. I now make pancakes with lots of different stuff in them. And if you are really lazy, you can buy baby food (so pre-pureed veggies) and throw that into them!

The link below has her mac & cheese recipe so you can check out how it works. I also have put the veggies into the boxed mac & cheese (talk about lazy!). The key is to make the veggies in advance. I can’t stress that enough. If you don’t freeze several types of veggies in advance, you’ll never do this. And who doesn’t want their kids to eat more veggies?

http://www.doitdelicious.com/cookbooks/deceptively_delicious

Leave a Reply

